Czech Republic




The Czech Republic is a landlocked country in Central Europe and became a separate state in 1993 after Czechoslovakia split into two countries, it shares borders with Germany, Austria, Slovakia and Poland.

Czechoslovakia became a communist-ruled state in 1948. Dissatisfaction with the communist regime resulted in troops from neighboring communist countries invading in 1968 and remaining until the peaceful 1989 Velvet Revolution, when the communist regime collapsed.

On 1 January 1993, the country of Czechoslovakia was dissolved into the current countries of Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Prague is the capital of the Czech Republic. Historically, Prague has been the capital of the Holy Roman Empire, an important city in Austria-Hungary, and the capital of Czechoslovakia. It is now one of the most visited cities in Europe.

Yet while Prague boasts an inordinate number of excellent attractions, there are enough out-of-the-way attractions to warrant exploring by car. Highlights of a trip to the Czech countryside include many excellent national parks and conservation areas, one of the most popular being the aptly named Bohemian Paradise, an area of outstanding natural beauty characterized by numerous splendid rock formations and many fine old castles (another area worth visiting is Podyjí National Park in Moravia with its large unspoiled forests). Along the way, you'll stumble across numerous old villages and towns, many unchanged since medieval times and home to fine old churches, palaces, and public squares, all of them worth a visit.




Capital: Prague

Geographical size: 78 866.2 km2

Population: 10 512 419 (2014)

Population as % of total EU population: 2.1 % (2014)

GDP: € 149.491 billion (2013)

Official EU language(s): Czech

Political system: parliamentary republic

EU member country since: 1 May 2004

Seats in the European Parliament: 21

Currency: Czech koruna (CZK)


Prague Old Town





Cesky Krumlov